Youth Achievements Keep Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association Thriving

A summer’s work filled with weekend horse shows for enthusiastic horseback riders of all ages has been recognized.

Presentation of yearend awards was highlight of the recent 2014 Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association (EKHA) Banquet at Clay Center.

Directors of member EKHA clubs met during the afternoon for the annual business session, and then participating riders gathered at supper and honoring high point riders for the year.

While top four participants in each class conducted at 10 shows, and climaxed with a state yearend show for double points, received token verification thereof, honoring age-group all-around riders was best part of the evening presentations.

Youth are the future of any organization, and youth have always been especially important to the Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association as verified by the horseshow group’s longevity.

Golden anniversary for the EKHA was celebrated last year, and progress toward another century of horse activities became obvious in the high number of youth involved in the six and under age group classes at the 11 shows throughout 2014.

Noteworthy is that EKHA was a forerunner in horse shows dividing into more age categories in order so young, learning riders weren’t competing against older, more experienced participants.

Likewise, through EKHA’s admirable duration, numerous transitions have been incorporated so adult riders will continue competing well into maturity.

High point saddle club honors went to the Sand Springs Saddle Club at Abilene, with second to Mitchell County Riders, followed by the Santa Fe Saddle Club of Council Grove, and the Salina Silver Spurs.

Reece Langvardt was the high point all-around six and under rider, with reserve going to Gus Wainwright, and third to Shea Augustine.

High point all-around rider in the seven to nine year old division was Joy Clemence, followed by Mandy Wainwright, Jayden Patry and Tacoma Augustine, respectively in order.

Breah Fillmore topped the ten to 13 all-around division, with Tray Zabokrtsky, Ellie Wiles and Heather Patry ranking next in order of yearend point tabulations.

Fourteen to 18 age division all-around high point rider was Nichole Patry, as Lauren Hubele was the reserve high point rider, followed in order by Brooke Wallace, and Emily Wiles.

Heather Thompson collected the buckle as the high point all-around contestant in the adults 19 through 40 division, with Sierra Wallace as the runner-up.

In the 41 to 60 adult all-around category, top rider was Rosetta Wiles, and Sara Prochaska got the runner-up buckle.

Adults 61 and over high point all-around rider was Ron McDonald, and Frank Buchman was the reserve point token recipient.

High point horse for the year was Holly ridden by Ellie, Emily and Rosetta Wiles.

EKHA Banquet
The Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association celebrated its 51st anniversary during the recent annual awards banquet at Clay Center. Success of the organization has been based on keeping youth interested in horses. Many of the 11 shows this year had the largest number of entries in the six and under age division. Present to accept yearend event awards in that category were Ashlee Erichsen, Shea Augustine, reserve high point all-around Gus Wainwright, high point all-around Reece Langvardt, Logan Hickey and Kate Bormann. (Photo courtesy of Shirley McDonald, EKHA head point keeper.)

Junior division high point horse and rider award when to Shea Augustine and Smokey, while the senior high point horse and rider unit token was received by Heather Thompson and Liberty.

A number of traveling trophies are presented annually as memorials to former EKHA participants.

Often considered the most important of those, again due to the high significance placed on youth participation in EKHA competitions, are the Most Improved rider and sportsmanship Awards, both given in memory of Rosalie Clymer, who was instrumental in helping organize the EKHA and was a longtime participant in shows for nearly four decades.

Tray Zabokrtsky was recipient of both the junior boy Most Improved Rider and junior boy Sportsmanship Awards.

Alaura Hemphill received the junior girl Rosalie Clymer Most Improved Rider Award, and the junior girl Sportsmanship Award went to Jorja Peterson.

A new award presented at this year’s banquet was presented by the Santa Fe Saddle Club, was the Rosalie Clymer Memorial Ranch Horse Pleases Award presented to mark Hickey.

Information about participation in EKHA sanctioned events next year can be found