Morris County 4-H Members To Present Program At Foundation’s 40th Anniversary

Top 4-H Club Day numbers will be presented as highlight of the 40th-anniversary celebration of the Morris County 4-H Foundation.

“Everybody interested in the 4-H program has been invited to the supper program Friday evening, April 7, at 7 o’clock, in the fairgrounds community building at Council Grove,” welcomed Larry Johnson, foundation president.

Formation of the Morris County 4-H Foundation and its growth in assisting more than 2,250 4-H members to participate in special activities in the past four decades is to be reviewed.

Supported strictly by member donations, the Morris County 4-H Foundation has provided financial help so more 4-H members could attend camps, leadership seminars, judging competitions and many additional life building opportunities.

“A total of $37,225 has been given in 103 Morris County 4-H Foundation Scholarships to 4-H club members,” Johnson said.

“Growth in the Morris County 4-H Foundation assistance has been through annual giving with incentive recognitions. Families often designate memorials to the foundation in honor of their lost loved ones who had fond experiences through the 4-H program,” Johnson pointed out.

“All donations to the Morris County 4-H Foundation remain in the county and are used only for Morris County 4-H Club members working hard ‘To Make the Best Better,’ the 4-H motto,” Johnson added.

Membership in the beginning was $5, with “Lifetime Membership” recognized for those giving a total of $100. Annual membership is now $10.

“There have been 499 donations that have totaled $100 or more, with the honor now identified as ‘Patron’ member,” Johnson said.

Eighty-two people have been remembered with memorials to the Morris County 4-H Foundation.

Donations to the foundation are cumulative and recognized annually at the spring Patron membership banquet.

Diamond Memorials for donations totaling more than $10,000 have been made for Marie Garretson and Doug Laue.

Emerald Memorials for donations of $5,000 or more are in the names of Dr. James E. Bowers, Carolyn Buchman, James Collier, Elizabeth Elliott, and Hale White.

Gordon and Deanna Smith received the Emerald Award for giving more than $5,000 to the Morris County 4-H Foundation.

Patron members, special recognition awards and memorials are also to be acknowledged at this year’s special 40th anniversary annual meeting.

Anniversary supper celebration reservations with checks payable to the Morris County 4-H Foundation should be mailed to Connie Burton, 1867 C Avenue, White City KS 66872.

Information is available by emailing