Best Cowboys Matched With Best Bulls Topeka’s New Year’s Eve Xtreme Event

It’ll be a real cowboy’s New Year’s Eve Party second to none.

“That’s the PRCA New Year’s Eve Xtreme Bulls Tuesday evening, December 31, in Topeka,” announced Judd Mortenson, event coordinator promoter.

“We’ll feature truly the best cowboys in the world matching skills with the best bucking bulls in the world,” Mortenson declared.

In Stormont Vail Events Center’s Landon Arena competition featuring 40 top professional bull riders begins at 7 o’clock.

With one final out, Smooth Operator took a victory lap after bucking off Chase Outlaw in the Championship Round of the PBR World Finals. Chad Berger Bucking Bulls will have the World Champion Bull in the draw at the New Year’s Eve Xtreme Bulls in Topeka December 31.

Mortensen is a winner in both the PRCA (Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association) and PBR (Professional Bull Riders). Promoting bull riding events from Chino Valley, Arizona, Mortensen has been inducted into the PBR Hall of Fame.

J.W. Harris, four time world champion bull rider from Mullin, Texas, is headed to Topeka for the New Year’s Eve Xtreme Bulls December 31.

“Entries are just being completed today and we’ll have several world champion bull riders competing at Topeka,” Mortensen said Thursday.

Chad Berger Bucking Bulls, Mandan, South Dakota, will provide his outstanding livestock for the event.

Berger has recently been honored as the PBR Stock Contractor of the Year, a remarkable feat recognized nine consecutive years. “I started out hauling 15 bulls to events and I now have over 300 head of bulls,” Berger said.

His bull called Smooth Operator was recently named the 2019 PBR World Champion Bull. He was also honored as the 2019 Bull of the PBR Finals. “Smooth Operator will be in the draw on New Year’s Eve at Topeka verifying the caliber of livestock,” Mortensen noted.

Competing for more than $25,000 in prize money, all 40 contestants will show their skills in the long go-round. “Then the top 12 riders will come back in the short-go to determine the champion bull rider,” Mortensen said.

Since 2003, the PRCA has sanctioned events that feature bull riding alone called the Xtreme Bulls tour. The rider who wins the most money is named the Xtreme Bulls tour champion.

Bull riders must compete in at 40 complete PRCA rodeos for Xtreme Bulls winnings to count towards the National Finals Rodeo.

Shane Proctor, the 2011 world champion bull rider from Troutman, North Carolina, has won more than $1.25 million riding bulls. He’s intending to up that total at Topeka December 31, in the New Year’s Eve Xtreme Bulls.

“This is the first Xtreme Bulls event of 2020; the reason we’ll have so many top professionals riding,” Mortensen said.

J.W. Harris, four time world champion PRCA bull rider from Mullin, Texas, will see Topeka action. He’s won nearly $2 million riding bulls fully intending to up that tally on New Year’s Eve.

It’s not going to be an easy feat for Harris with entry lineup including other outstanding riders like Shane Proctor. The 2011 world champion now living in Troutman, North Carolina, Proctor has five National Finals Rodeo qualifications. He’s won more than $1.25 million riding bulls.

Advance tickets for the greatest New Year’s Eve Party in the country are available at “There are group discounts by calling 785-633-8448,” noted Mortensen, adding that tickets can also be purchased at the door.