K-State Rodeo success despite winter blizzard intrusion

“The show must go on.”

That was K-State Rodeo Team Coach Doug Muller Thursday morning as snow and blizzard conditions closed roads throughout the Midwest.

But, even though that true cowboy philosophy was the intent to follow, it was much more complicated.

“Contacts had to made with universities in the Central Plains Region of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association to determine whether it was logistically and feasibly possible for the 57th annual K-State Rodeo to go forward as long planned at Manhattan,” Muller admitted.

“There were more than 500 advance entries from Kansas and Oklahoma, and it was essential to get in touch with every team, before we could actually decide to go ahead,” Muller added.

“When we finally made our decision, many of the roads had been cleared off, so most teams would be able to compete.  Of course, we went with the majority who wanted to come, but there were about 40 entries that were forced to cancel. We agreed congenially to pay their penalties for missing the rodeo, in order that we could have it, instead of rescheduling,” Muller clarified.

“All in all, the rodeo at Weber Arena turned out to be very successful,” emphasized Beth McQuade, advisor of the K-State Rodeo Club, organizers of the collegiate rodeo.


“We had great crowds at every performance. The Saturday night attendance was outstanding as were all of the cowboys and cowgirls, and the livestock,” McQuade added.

However, as easy as that might sound, there’s much more to it. “It took a lot of hard work and cooperation from all of the K-State Rodeo Club members. I really appreciate how everybody pitched in to make the show go on despite the snow making it difficult to get rigs parked and horses into Weber Arena for the performances,” Adam Pack, K-State Rodeo Club president credited.

“Because, there was so much snow on campus, we did allow the timed event contestants to come inside to warm their horses up during the rodeo intermission,” Pack related.

When the final bull had bucked, and scores were tabulated, both top team honors went to Kansas colleges. Fort Scott Community College won the men’s division, and Pratt Community College was first in the women’s category.

All-around cowboy honors went to Jacob Watson from Panhandle State University, and all-around cowgirl was Renee Hays of Southeastern Oklahoma State.

With a dozen contestants representing the K-State Rodeo Team, Muller said, “Cally Thomas, a senior in animal science, split second in the barrel racing with Latisha Simon from Pratt.”

A highlight of Saturday’s performance, according to McQuade, was coronation of Miss Rodeo K-State Lindy Singular from Linn by 2012 Miss Rodeo K-State Abbey Pomeroy. Cassie Sims was runner-up for the title, and Joanna Wright was named Miss Congeniality.

Other results, as announced by McQuade:

Bareback Riding: 1, Blaine Kaufman, Fort Scott; 2, Yance Day, Southwestern Oklahoma; 3, Ryan Rickman, Fort Scott.

Calf Roping: 1, Dillon Holder, Southeastern Oklahoma;  2, Wyatt Branden, Western Oklahoma; 3 split, Brodie Poppino, Southwestern Oklahoma, and Jeremy Kempker, Northeastern Oklahoma.

Breakaway Roping: 1, Jacey Moreland, Northeastern Oklahoma; 2 split, Renee Hays, Southeastern Oklahoma, and Victoria Meyer, Northeastern Oklahoma .

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Cody Hamm, Fort Scott; 2, Jake Watson, Panhandle State; 3,Caleb Nichols, Panhandle State.

Steer Wrestling: 1, Stephen Culling, Western Oklahoma; 2, Ryan Domer, Northwestern Oklahoma; 3, Goober Snider, Dodge City.

Goat Tying: 1, Cheyenne Budvarson, Western Oklahoma; 2,Brittany Mumbrue, Fort Scott; 3, Cati Stanko, Southwestern Oklahoma.

Team Roping: 1, Travis Cowan  and  Brice Buzzard, both Northwestern Oklahoma; 2, Trenton Turner, Garden City, and Owen Dineen, Colby; 3, Troy Chasteen and Jack Laughlin, both Northeastern Oklahoma.

Barrel Racing: 1, Tanya Steinhoff, Pratt; 2 split, Cally Thomas, K-State, and Latisha Simon, Pratt.

Bull Riding: 1, Jeff Bertus, Panhandle State; 2, Jeremy Barnhill, Southwestern Oklahoma; 3, Zane Cook, Connor State.