Better to rain than no hay

“The hay’s getting wet.”

As upsetting as that remark might be when a shower comes on freshly mowed grass, it’s still better than what we were thinking a few weeks ago.

Before the moisture started coming in most locales, serious concern was if there would be any grass, let alone hay to bale. Continue reading →

Ways change with the times

“The best way to get there is to ride a horse.”

That’s always been our philosophy, and one we’ve tried to follow.  But, like the rest of the fast-paced-world, we end up driving a motorized vehicle most places we go.

However, a strong appreciation remains in our heart for those who settled this country traveling with horses. Continue reading →

Kansas Teenage Cowboys And Cowgirls Qualify For National High School Rodeo Finals

Fourteen high school rodeos from the state’s border to border north, south, east and west climaxed Saturday evening, June 8, at the Kansas High School Rodeo Finals in Topeka.

Following two go-rounds, a short go-round and a finals event at the yearend championship competition, eleven high school age cowboys and cowgirls collected event titles, according to Suzan Adams, secretary of the Kansas High School Association from Junction City.


Top four in each event of the yearend standings in the association have earned the honor to represent the state of Kansas in the 2013 National High School Rodeo, July 14 – 20, at the Sweetwater Events Complex, Rock Springs, Wyoming.

Kaitlyn Dinges, Ness City, was crowned as the Kansas High School Rodeo Queen, and will also compete for the National High School Rodeo Queen title at the national finals.

Big winner for the year was Paige Wiseman of Paola, who left the Topeka arena as the all-around champion cowgirl. She was also named yearend champion in both goat tying and pole bending, second in girls cutting, fourth in barrel racing and eighth in breakaway roping. Wiseman will compete at the national competition in four events.

Runner-up for the girl’s all-around title went to Stacey Bailey, Cherokee, Oklahoma, who won the barrel racing, was second in pole bending, and fourth in both goat tying and girls cutting, qualifying for nationals in all four events.

All-around cowboy title went to Ben Johnsrud of Plains, who was second in both steer wrestling and boys cutting, in addition to rating third in team roping, with his brother, Nathan Johnsrud, as his partner. Ben will compete in three events at the nationals.

Trevor Kirchenslager of Yuma, Colorado, was the runner-up all-around cowboy. He was yearend champion in calf roping and teamed with Austin Crist, Rocky Ford, Colorado, to also collect the team roping championship. Kirchenslager will compete at the nationals in both events.

Rating second and third respectively at yearend in goat tying were Shelby Whiting, Paola, and Michaela Peterson, Council Grove;

Placing third and fourth in pole bending for the year were Peyton Mentzer, Ensign, and Kalie Turley, Modoc.

Timber Allenbrand, Paola, was second in barrel racing for the year, and Lydia Rijfkogel, Garden City, placed third.

Taylor Todd, Rexford, won the girls cutting, and Hadley Dehoff, Tonganoxie, came in third.

Casey Adams of Junction City was the yearend champion in breakaway roping, with Brandi Hollenbeck of Hutchinson coming in second, followed by Whiting, third; and Allenbrand, fourth.

Second place in calf roping went to Cooper Martin, Alma, followed by Trey Johnson, Humboldt, and Landon Koehn, Salina.

Placing second through fourth in the team roping final tabulations, in order, were Kody Tredway, Erie, and Tyler Hobart, Clearwater; Ben and Nathan Johnsrud; and Robert Olson, Coldwater, and Kyle Hash, Buffalo, Oklahoma.

Laramie Moore, Bucklin, won the steer wrestling for the year with Cody Devers, Perryton, Texas, third; and Alex Phelps, Ulysses, fourth.

Mitchell Gorman, Meade, won the yearend boys cutting, with Calvin Coddington, Reading, third; and Tristen Tyler, Oakley, fourth.

Champion bull rider for the year was Cody Hunsperger, Yate Center, followed by Laramie Mosley, Sublette; Bill Sumerour, Leonardville; and Austin Kisner, Pretty Prairie.

Lane Hamm, Minneapolis, won the saddle bronc riding for the year followed in order by Ben Doyle, Holton; Colton Wagoner, Matfield Green; and Clay Cossairt, Columbus.

Qualifying for the national competition in bareback bronc riding were Colton Delgado, Great Bend; Dillon Short, Manhattan; and Clay Cossairt.

Placing’s in shooting in order were Cody Devers, Garret Waugh, Tim Williams and Dakota Rucker. In the trap competition, rankings were Dillon Short, Rucker, Devers and Waugh.


Yearend champions of the Kansas High School Rodeo Association posed at the conclusion of the recent Kansas High Rodeo Finals in Topeka. They have qualified for the National High School Rodeo Finals, July 14 – 20, at Rock Springs, Wyoming, along with all of the other top four yearend placing cowboys and cowgirls in events conducted at 14 rodeos throughout the 2012-13 competition year. Shown are Queen Kaitlyn Dinges, Ness City; Laramie Moore, Bucklin, steer wrestling, Bucklin; Colton Delgado, Great Bend, bareback bronc riding; Lane Hamm, Minneapolis, saddle bronc riding; Stacey Bailey, Cherokee, Oklahoma, barrel racing; Casey Adams, Junction City, breakaway roping; Paige Wiseman, Paola, goat typing and pole bending; Taylor Todd, girls cutting; Mitchell Gorman, Meade, boys cutting; Cody Hunsperger, Yates Center, bull riding; and Trevor Kirchenslager, Yuma, Colorado, calf roping and team roping